Facebook: how to delete a page, a group or my account
Maybe you no longer want to have a page or group that you created or are so fed up with Facebook that you want to delete your account entirely. Let me explain a few things to be clear about what you want and how to do it.
Delete or deactivate your account
If you no longer want to actively use Facebook, you have two options: you can deactivate your account or delete it permanently. When you disable it, all your information is inaccessible to any other Facebook user. You can reactivate it later when you want to start using the service again.
How to deactivate my account:
Just click on ‘Account’ in the upper right corner, choose ‘Account Settings’ from the drop down menu and you will find ‘Deactivate Account’ as the last option on the list. By clicking the blue “deactivate” link, you will be guided to a screen with further instructions. Remember that the open groups you have created will no longer be editable. Read carefully all the available options.
How do I delete my account:
If you are absolutely sure that you no longer want to use Facebook, remember that you will not be able to retrieve any content or information that you have added. To delete your account, you must submit a request on this page: https://www.facebook.com/help/contact.php?show_form=delete_account
Delete a page
A page is an entity that you create to represent a company, a public person, a band, an artist, or a company. If you just don’t want a page you’ve created anymore, go to the page, click ‘Edit page’ under the profile picture. Then select ‘Manage Permissions’ in the left column. Click ‘Permanently delete this page’. Remember that if you have deleted your page, you cannot reactivate it.
Delete a group
The purpose of a group is to connect like-minded people or give information on a topic that is of interest to you and the members of your group, for example vegetarians. Facebook automatically removes groups once there are no members left. To do this, simply remove all members and then yourself. Only the first creator of the group will be able to delete the group, if they have not already left it voluntarily.
To remove members, click “Edit Members” on your group page under the profile picture. Just click on the ‘x’ symbol next to the name and they will be removed. Unfortunately, you can only delete them one by one, which is a bit unfortunate if you have a group with a lot of members.